Saturday, 11 May 2013

European Parliament Elections in 2014

Members of the European Parliament are elected for 5 year terms and the current term ends in 2014. Euro elections are expected to take place on the same day as local council elections in London and this is expected to be 22nd May 2014.

London is entitled to 8 Euro MPs and they are allocated to each party proportionally to the number of votes the party received. In London in 2009 Labour won enough votes to get 2 MPs out of the 8 - Claude Moraes and Mary Honeyball.

Labour has already chosen who its 8 candidates will be for 2014 but, because of the proportional voting system that applies to these elections, these candidates have to be put in order of preference on a list. The Party has to decide this order for its candidates and will do this by a OMOV (one member one vote) ballot of all Labour Party members. Party members will be sent ballot papers during June, and the deadline for submitting completed ballots is the end of July.

The eight Labour Party candidates in London are:
Follow the links for more details on each candidate. See also the ELECTIONS 2014 page on this blog.

No comments:

Post a Comment